Chocolate Frozen Custard (Vegan, Gluten Free)

Coconut milk makes this easy, luscious chocolate ice cream dairy free and vegan! Try my Americone Dream imitation recipe next if you’re not totally vegan.

No eggs here

I did some research a while back on alternative methods to create ice cream without using eggs since, well, it’s a pain in the ass. And I’m not a fan of raw eggs in my food. So far, everything I’ve made has been egg-free.

So, in order to create something totally dairy-free, I knew I needed a mix of arrowroot powder and coconut milk, but finding the proper proportions took some time.

Magic ingredients: arrowroot powder and coconut milk

I knew that arrowroot powder smoothed the ice cream and prevented ice crystals from developing when it was frozen, so it was a must. And since I recalled seeing coconut milk on the small pints of So Delicious Dairy Free ice cream at the shop, I did some research on amounts and such.

I eventually got it correct after some trial and error.

It’s smooth like soft serve ice cream

And believe me when I say it’s decadent. I prefer soft serve ice cream over hard-packed ice cream, so if you’re like me, I suggest just storing this in the freezer for a few hours after churning it, since it’s creamy, rich, and simply delicious at that moment.

or gluten free meals may be a pain in the ass with a million things to compensate for the item you’re leaving out that makes it poisonous*, but this simply has 6 ingredients and is really simple. I may never make chocolate ice cream again in the same manner. That’s how fantastic it is. Generally, vegan and vegetarian

*Clearly, I’m being sarcastic here. I only have a few health-conscious acquaintances that say stuff like “Sugar is poison!” So I used sugar-free chocolate chips for this one, and I’m taking a lighthearted go at them. We adore you.

Make it your own

I made mine non-vegan by mixing in crushed pretzels and Ghirardelli dark chocolate chunks, because, well, I don’t owe you an explanation for what I just did, OKAY? Okay.

To make it your own, adjust the ingredients as you see suitable. All you need to do is utilize vegan-friendly foods and seasonings.

Chocolate Ice Cream

Pin Print

Prep Time: 45mins
Cook Time: 5mins
Total Time: 50mins
Servings: 8to 10 servings
    ✓ Read the recipe beginning to end
    ✓ Check oven calibration
    ✓ Check expiration dates
    ✓ Properly measure ingredients
    ✓ Check butter temperature


Creamy chocolate ice cream made dairy free and vegan by coconut milk!


  • Ice cream maker


  • 3cupscoconut milk, divided
  • 2tablespoonsarrowroot powder
  • 2tablespoonscocoa powder, I like to use Navitas
  • ½cupGrade B maple syrup, if you’re able, support a local farm and buy from them!
  • 1teaspoonpure vanilla extract
  • ¾cupdark chocolate chips, Enjoy Life are DF, GF and V


  • In a small bowl, combine 1/4 cup coconut milk with arrowroot powder. Set aside.
    3 cups coconut milk, 2 tablespoons arrowroot powder
  • In a large saucepan, combine the remaining coconut milk, cocoa powder and maple syrup. Bring to a boil, stirring constantly.
    3 cups coconut milk, 2 tablespoons cocoa powder, 1/2 cup Grade B maple syrup
  • Once it’s brought to a boil, stir in the coconut milk/arrowroot powder mixture and stir until completely combined – the mixture should thicken a bit. Remove from heat.
  • Add vanilla and chocolate chips and stir until completely combined and chocolate is melted and smooth.
    1 teaspoon pure vanilla extract, 3/4 cup dark chocolate chips
  • Pour mixture into a heat-proof bowl, cover with plastic wrap and place in fridge to chill. You want the mixture to be chilled, so if you’re able to leave it for a few hours or overnight, that’s your best bet.
  • I used my KitchenAid ice cream maker and let it churn for 30 minutes. In the last five minutes, I added my chocolate chunks and a dash of salt. If you’re making it plain, you don’t need to add anything and just let it churn until it’s good and… churned.
  • Pour batter into a freezer-safe container and freeze for a couple hours if you want it to be soft-serve texture (or overnight, if you want to eat it after it’s hardened).
  • Scoop it into a bowl, plop it on top of a cone, sprinkle it with toppings or whipped cream and enjoy!

Nutrition Facts

Calories: 324kcal | Carbohydrates: 28g | Protein: 3g | Fat: 24g | Saturated Fat: 21g | Polyunsaturated Fat: 1g | Monounsaturated Fat: 1g | Cholesterol: 1mg | Sodium: 31mg | Potassium: 359mg | Fiber: 1g | Sugar: 18g | Vitamin A: 2IU | Vitamin C: 1mg | Calcium: 91mg | Iron: 3mg


Is there gluten in vegan ice cream?

Regrettably, not all gluten-free plant-based ice cream exists. Nevertheless, not all “normal” ice creams are the same. Gluten creeps its way into (all varieties of) ice cream in subtle ways. The first way this occurs is via cross-contamination in production facilities.

Is there an ice cream that is dairy-free & gluten-free?

The ‘Dairy Free’ collection from Golden North is a plant-based frozen treat created with organic coconut cream. Comes in a convenient 1.2L tub for the whole family. It is lactose-free, dairy-free, nut-free, gluten-free, and palm oil-free.

What is vegan chocolate ice cream made of?

Water, cocoa powder, rich coconut cream, and organic cane sugar are mixed together to make the base. Then there’s the rich chocolate taste, which comes from lots of vegan dark chocolate.

Is vegan vanilla ice cream gluten-free?

Our vegan and Kosher-certified 750 mL plant-based ice cream treat is dairy, gluten, and lactose-free, with no artificial colors or flavors. We give uncomplicated taste in every scoop of Swedish Glace.

Does Dairy Queen ice cream have gluten?

The Dairy Queen

Gluten-free options include vanilla and chocolate soft serve ice cream, as well as a variety of toppings. Dairy Queen warns that several of its Blizzard delights include gluten and that they are all prepared on the same machine, so you should avoid Blizzards to prevent any cross-contamination.

What ice cream can celiacs eat?

Plain single flavor ice cream, such as strawberry, vanilla, or chocolate, is more likely to be gluten free. Gluten is more likely to be present in ice cream that incorporates baked items, such as cookie dough or brownies. To stay safe, always read the label!

Is Breyers non-dairy ice cream vegan?

Instead of using their successful almond milk base, they’ve chosen to employ trendier oats. Breyers Non-Dairy Oat Milk Ice Cream is the first plain vanilla vegan ice cream to enter the public in huge, 1.5 quart tubs at a reasonable price.

Which Ben and Jerry’s is gluten-free and dairy-free?

Ben & Jerry’s Phish Food® ice cream is gluten-free in both the dairy and non-dairy varieties.

Are Wendy’s Frostys dairy-free?

The chocolate Frosty contains milk, sugar, corn syrup, cream, whey, nonfat dry milk, cocoa, guar gum, mono and diglycerides, cellulose gum, natural vanilla flavor, carrageenan, calcium sulfate, sodium citrate, dextrose, and Vitamin A palmitate, according to the ingredient list on the Frosty menu page.

What is in Dairy Queen vegan ice cream?

According to the Dairy Queen website, the exact ingredients are: Water, Sugar, Corn Syrup, Maltodextrin, Coconut Oil, Coconut Cream, Contains 2% Or Less Of Vanilla Extract, Xanthan Gum, Guar Gum, Carrageenan, Carob Bean Gum, Mono & Diglycerides), Coating (Coconut Oil, Sugar, Cocoa Processed With Alkali, Corn…

Rate this post

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *